Bass Coast,

Bass Coast Recognises 2014 Young Leaders


Bass Coast Shire Council would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2014 Bass Coast Shire Council’s Young Leaders Award.

The Bass Coast Young Leaders Program recognises students who display qualities in one or more of the following areas; respect, responsibility, friendship, teamwork, leadership, academic excellence, sporting excellence, and outstanding improvement.

Two young leaders from each of the 13 participating Bass Coast schools were recognised at a special presentation event on Friday, 21 February 2014 at the Silverwater Resort in San Remo.

Mayor, Cr Neil Rankine, congratulated all 26 Young Leaders for their achievements and commented on the great potential of each and every student held for the future.

“It is great to see so many fantastic qualities in these young people, including leadership, integrity and respect,” Cr Rankine said.

“We hope some of these Young Leaders will be able to get involved in Council decision making, events and activities throughout the next year.”

Cr Rankine told the Young Leaders to be warned – “you may find yourself Mayor one day!”

The 2014 Bass Coast Young Leaders received their Award from the Mayor, including a certificate, presentation pack and Young Leaders badge.

In addition, they received $150 from Council to go towards their education expenses.

The Program was introduced by Council in 2007 to nurture young leaders.

Recipients this year were:

Bass Coast Specialist School - Matilda Bird and Jamie Brewington

Bass Valley Primary School - Cade Cook and Jasmine McMaster

Cowes Primary School – Ruby Formosa and Sam Taylor

Newhaven Primary School – Emily Fuller and Patrick Knocker

Inverloch Kongwak Primary School – Nicholas Rigby and Briar Smith

Newhaven College (Primary) – Juliette Townsend and Patrick Ryan

Powlett River Primary School – Shanaye Clarke and Joshua Stevens

San Remo Primary School – Alice Chaston and Evie Fertis

St Joseph's School – Eros Reid and Gabrielle Martin

Wonthaggi North Primary School – Hajer Mohamed and Noah Anderson

Wonthaggi Primary School – Jorja Hiley and Lee Duke

Newhaven College (Secondary) – Emily Anthony and Luke Anstey

Wonthaggi Secondary College – Tanya Milnes and Luke Michael

Anyone wanting to find out more about the Bass Coast Young Leaders Program can contact Council’s Youth Planning and Policy Officer Sidrah McCarthy on 1300 BCOAST (226 278) or