Bass Coast,
23
July
2015
|
03:41
Australia/Melbourne

Bass Coast Shire Council 2015 Electoral Representation Review

This information is courtesty of the Victorian Electoral Commission

The Victorian Electoral Commission is conducting a representation review of Bass Coast Shire Council and is seeking your contribution. Periodic reviews ensure that the electoral structure of your council provides fair and equitable representation for all voters. The review will look at:

  • the appropriate number of councillors

  • whether the municipality should be unsubdivided, with councillors elected from the whole municipality, or subdivided into wards and

  • if subdivided, the number of wards, ward boundaries, the number of councillors per ward and possible ward names.

    Have your say on the structure of your council by making a submission online at vec.vic.gov.au or by email, post or fax. Public submissions are a vital part of the process, providing valuable local knowledge and perspectives. The VEC’s Guide for Submissions has all the key dates and details to help you prepare a submission.

    The key dates for the review are also below:

Preliminary submissions open

Wednesday 22 July

Public information sessions

6.00pm on Monday, 27 July (Cowes)

6.00pm on Tuesday, 28 July (Inverloch)

6.00pm on Wednesday, 29 July (Wonthaggi)

7.00pm on Thursday, 30 July (Grantville)

Deadline for preliminary submissions

5.00 pm on Wednesday, 19 August

Release of preliminary report

Wednesday, 16 September

Deadline for response submissions

5.00 pm on Wednesday, 14 October

Public hearings

6.00 pm on Monday, 19 October (Wonthaggi)

6.00 pm on Tuesday, 20 October (Cowes)

Release of final report

Wednesday, 11 November

To find out more about the Bass Coast Shire Council review and to make a submission, visit the VEC website.