Bass Coast,

Bass Coast Welcomes Nine New Citizens


Nine Bass Coast residents were officially declared Australian citizens at the Citizenship Ceremony held at the Old Post Office building in Wonthaggi on Tuesday, 24 March.

They come from the Russian Federation, Canada, Indonesia, Myanmar, Philippines, France, India and Nepal and now reside in Cape Paterson, Cowes, North Wonthaggi and Wonthaggi.

The formal proceedings were conducted by Bass Coast Shire Mayor, Cr Kimberley Brown and Council’s General Manager Infrasturcture, Felicity Sist as MC. Also in attendance were Mrs Harriet Shing MLC, Mr Jeff Bourman MLC and Cr Clare Le Serve.

Cr Brown congratulated the new citizens on choosing Australia as their new home, and more specifically, Bass Coast.

The next citizenship ceremony will be held on Tuesday, 26 May.