Bass Coast,

Bass Coast Young Leaders Awards


Over 170 guests attended the 2018 Bass Coast Young Leaders ceremony, at the Inverloch RACV Resort, last week.

The annual awards are hosted by Bass Coast Shire Council to recognise and celebrate youth leadership. Schools are invited to nominate two students from both Year 6 and Year 11 who demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities, ranging from strong academic leadership, to leadership in the arts, sports, community, kindness and friendship.

Bass Coast Shire Council Mayor, Cr Pamela Rothfield, presented the Awards.

“The Awards ceremony is a fantastic celebration and recognition of the role that young people play as leaders and mentors in their schools and in the broader community,” Cr Rothfield said.

Students also participated in a workshop and lunch with the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor and the Council’s CEO, Paul Buckley, which explored ways to use story telling to share leadership experiences.

“It was fabulous meeting the students prior to the Awards ceremony, and having the opportunity to share some of my personal story.”

A video of the 2018 Young Leaders workshop has been developed and can be viewed at Council’s Youth Facebook Page at, along with photos of the event.

The 2018 Bass Coast Young Leaders Award recipients are:

Bass Coast Specialist School – Bohe May and Matilda Bird

Bass Valley Primary School – Matthew and Dakin Nahlaya Sinniah

Cowes Primary School – Louisa Poll and Jack Hosking

Newhaven College (Primary) – Blake Baker and Grace Crozier

Newhaven Primary School – Sonny Mc Millan and Charlotte O'Brien

San Remo Primary School – Jade Ruffin and Finn Chiaradia

Inverloch Kongwak Primary School – Zac Box and Amy Scott

Wonthaggi North Primary School – Mataya Maloney and Harry West

Wonthaggi Primary School – Zac Mabilia and Sienna Tiziani

Newhaven College (Secondary) – Meg Hynes and Jake van der Plight

Wonthaggi Secondary College – Erinn Harnden and Micah Condron

Wonthaggi Secondary College VCAL – Kearny Hull