Bass Coast,

Council awards its 2016 Young Leaders


Twenty-five young people were recognised for their leadership when Bass Coast Shire Council presented them with their 2016 Bass Coast Young Leaders Awards at a special ceremony on Tuesday night.

The Young Leaders, who represent all 12 primary and secondary schools in Bass Coast, received a certificate, presentation pack, Young Leader badge, and a $200 contribution towards their education expenses.

The Young Leaders Awards were introduced by Council in 2007 to recognise young leaders in local schools who display qualities including respect, responsibility, friendship, team work, leadership, academic and sporting excellence, and outstanding improvement.

Cr Clare Le Serve, who presented students with their awards at the event held at Silverwater Resort, said she was proud to see so many dedicated, young students.

“These young people have achieved so much in such a short time, and are role models for not only their friends, families and peers, but to the entire Bass Coast community,” Cr Le Serve said.

“On behalf of Council, I would like to congratulate them all and hopefully we have some future Councillors amongst this outstanding group!”

The 2016 Young Leaders have already kicked off their duties, meeting with Bass Coast Mayor, Cr Jordan Crugnale, to get to know one another and to discuss issues important to them in the Shire.

Meeting at the Wonthaggi Arts Centre, the students participated in consultation about Council projects, including what makes a community space youth friendly, the Wonthaggi Recreation Reserve Master Plan and the Wind Turbine Blades art project.

“It’s so wonderful to have worked with articulate, enthusiastic and big vision young thinkers on current 'live' projects; their input was invaluable and will be ongoing,” Cr Crugnale said.

“That they take this role seriously, want to make a difference and understand that being a leader is bringing out the best in the people around you is brilliant.”

They have also taken part in a short video focussing on ‘Youth Voice’, where the students answered questions such as ‘If you were Mayor of Bass Coast for a day, what would you do?’ and ‘What do you think makes a good leader?’

A preview of the film was screened at the Awards presentation evening and can be viewed on Council’s website. The full version will be available in the coming weeks to watch on the Bass Coast Youth Facebook page at

The Young Leaders will also be invited to visit Parliament House in Melbourne by Member for Bass, Brian Paynter MP.

2016 Bass Coast Young Leaders

Bass Coast Specialist School – Kyla Sheerin and Courtney Esparon

Bass Valley Primary School – Kyra Harman-Gilliam and Jessica Hall

Cowes Primary School – Lily Huther and Noah Geronimo

Inverloch/Kongwak Primary School – Jayla Morcom and Joseph Soumilas

Newhaven College (Junior Campus) – Coco Hosken and Jarrod Worcester

Newhaven College (Senior Campus) – Olivia Flower and Finnan Donohue

Newhaven Primary School – Jana McKay and Jett McMillan

Powlett River Primary School – Leit Rivers

San Remo Primary School – Charlotte Wagland and Cody Trewavis

St Joseph's School – Manuel Sibley and Kate Little

Wonthaggi North Primary School – Milly Whitehead and Kayne Grieve

Wonthaggi Primary School – Tevuro Ihomana-Montgomery and Lola Murray-White

Wonthaggi Secondary College – Tessa Syndenham and Nicholas Lawson