Bass Coast,

New DAMAC Members Appointed

Nine Bass Coast residents have been appointed to Bass Coast Shire Council’s Domestic Animal Management Advisory Committee (DAMAC) for a two year term.

At the May Ordinary Meeting, Council decided to seek expressions of interest from applicants to sit on the Committee, with a panel considering all applications received from community members.

The Committee includes a total of 11 people, with additional people able to join subcommittees based on their area of interest or location.

The Committee now consists of three representatives each from Phillip Island, the Waterline Area, and Wonthaggi surrounds, with the members being:

  • Sebastian Nowakowski (Waterline)
  • Barbara Oates (Waterline)
  • Elayne Russell (Waterline)
  • Ann Grose (Phillip Island)
  • Linda Cuthbertson (Phillip Island)
  • Patricia Hunt (Phillip Island)
  • Domenic Brusamarello (Wonthaggi and surrounds)
  • Keith Finney (Wonthaggi and surrounds)
  • Ivan Hipworth (Wonthaggi and surrounds)

The Council Mayor, who will Chair the Committee, and a Council Officer, who will be a non-voting secretary, make up the final two DAMAC members.

Mayor, Cr Neil Rankine, said as there were three nominations from each of the three areas, all nominations were accepted.

“There were nine nominations from community representatives for the nine positions on the Committee,” Cr Rankine, said.

 “The nominees are all suitable candidates with the appropriate skills and experience to undertake their role as a Committee Member, and there is no more than one nominee representing any particular interest group.”

The Committee’s responsibilities will be:

  • To act as an advisory group to Council;
  • Assist to implement the actions from the Domestic Animal Management Plan 2012-17;
  • By working together with the community, assist in developing needs based workable outcomes; and
  • Present a positive view on animal management and its perception in the community.