Bass Coast,

Safe to school for all Bass Coast children


To ensure children across Bass Coast can arrive and depart school safely, the Bass Coast Community Road Safety Committee is running its successful Safe to School program again over the coming months.

The program is running for its second year after Bass Coast Shire Council received increasing reports from schools and school crossing supervisors around Bass Coast that drop off and pick up times were problematic.

The 2015-2016 program kicked off with the first meeting of the Safe to School steering committee, including principals or vice-principals from the three participating schools and members of the road safety committee.

Schools taking part in the second round of the program are Wonthaggi, Wonthaggi North and Newhaven Primary Schools.

Wendy Caple, Principal of Inverloch Primary School, who was involved in the first Safe to School program, was a guest speaker at the first meeting.

“Wendy was able to talk about the benefits of the program to her school community and answer any queries from the principals who are new to the program,” Bass Coast Mayor, Cr Kimberley Brown, said.

“The program activities cover a wide range of approaches from raising student and parent awareness about safe road practices, and school crossing education sessions in preschools and primary schools.

Cr Phillips said the program also encourages more students to walk or ride to school in order to reduce both the volume of traffic around schools and the likelihood of an accident.

“We also aim to reduce poor driver behaviour in school zones through monitoring and enforcement by Victoria Police and Local Laws officers,” Cr Brown said.

“All principals involved have reinforced the need to improve the safety of children travelling to and from primary schools.”

The 2015-2016 Safe to School program has been made possible by further funding from the Victorian Community Road Safety Partnership Program

It follows on from the Safe to School program involving Cowes, Inverloch and San Remo Primary Schools run in 2014-2015.